Entertainment editors’ group reveals 4th Eddys nominees

While the year 2020 had seriously hampered filmmaking due to quarantine restrictions arising from the pandemic, the entertainment industry came out with finished works that The Eddys, an annual awarding ceremony organized by the Society of Philippines Entertainment Editors (SPEEd), now honors in its anticipated event.

 Vying for the top acting plum at the 4th EDDYS Entertainment Editors’ Choice are (from left) Charlie Dizon (‘Fan Girl’), Coleen Garcia (‘Mia’), Bela Padilla (‘On Vodka, Beers and Regrets’), Cristine Reyes (‘UnTrue’), and Sylvia Sanchez (‘Coming Home’).

Five titles are vying for the top plum in this year’s Best Film category: Fan Girl, Hayop Ka! The Nimfa Dimaano Story, He Who Is Without Sin, The Boy Foretold By The Stars, and UnTrue.

The competition is intense among the nominees in the major awards, the announcement of which will be aired virtually on March 22, Monday, in cooperation with the Film Development Council of the Philippines (FDCP).

In the Best Actress category, nominees Charlie Dizon (Fan Girl), Coleen Garcia (Mia), Bela Padilla (On Vodka, Beers and Regrets), Cristine Reyes (UnTrue), and Sylvia Sanchez (Coming Home) are contenders for the trophy.

Actors who made it to the shortlist are John Arcilla (Suarez: The Healing Priest), Paulo Avelino (Fan Girl), Elijah Canlas (He Who Is Without Sin), Adrian Lindayag (The Boy Foretold By The Stars) and  JC Santos (Motel Acacia).

For Best Director, the nominees are Sigrid Andrea P. Bernardo (UnTrue), Antoinette Jadaone (Fan Girl), Jason Paul Laxamana (He Who Is Without Sin), Avid Liongoren (Hayop Ka! The Nimfa Dimaano Story), and Irene Emma Villamor (On Vodka, Beers and Regrets).

For the Best Supporting Actor category, nominated are Ricky Davao (Sunday Night Fever), Matteo Guidicelli (On Vodka, Beers and Regrets), Edgar Allan Guzman (Coming Home), Zanjoe Marudo (Isa Pang Bahaghari), and Enzo Pineda (He Who Is Without Sin).

Via Antonio (Alter Me), Rhen Escaño (UnTrue) Agot Isidro (Motel Acacia), Sanya Lopez (Isa Pang Bahaghari), and Shaina Magdayao (Tagpuan) are the nominees for the Best Supporting Actress race.

The 4th EDDYS will stream on the SPEEd Facebook page, FDCP Channel, and other platforms.

Major sponsors are Beautederm Corporation and Toktok with support from San Miguel Corporation, Tiger Crackers, Smart Shot, Aficionado of Joel Cruz; House Speaker Lord Allan Velasco, Rep. Alfred Vargas, Rep. Niña Taduran (ACT-CIS partylist), Raffy Tulfo, Willie Revillame, and Maris Pure Corp.

Full list of nominees:


Manny Angeles at Paulle Olivenza (Hayop Ka! The Nimfa Dimaano Story)

Dolly Dulu (The Boy Foretold By The Stars)

Antoinette Jadaone (Fan Girl)

Jason Paul Laxamana (He Who Is Without Sin)

Eric Ramos (Isa Pang Bahaghari)


Neil Daza (Fan Girl)

Rody Lacap (Magikland)

Emmanuel Liwanag (He Who Is Without Sin)

Larry Manda (Motel Acacia)

Boy Yñiguez (UnTrue)


Jether Amar, Stephanie Atento, Geri Cruz, Kevin Makasiar, Ariel Mantaring, Joshua Panelo & Anne May Sy (Hayop Ka! The Nimfa Dimaano Story)

Mark Anthony Bersola, Aileen Cornejo-Castillo, Cedie Ebarle, Charmane Espiritu, Arvin Javier, John Kenneth Paclibar, Mark Rico, Leizel Senarita & Phillip Bryan Valenzuela (Block Z)

Richard Francis & Ryan Grimarez (Magikland)

Luminous Films (The Missing)

White Light Post (Motel Acacia)


Teresa Barrozo (Fan Girl)

Kean Cipriano (On Vodka, Beers and Regrets)

Paulo Protacio (He Who Is Without Sin)

The Boy Foretold By The Stars (Paulo Protacio)

Emerzon Texon (Magikland)


Ferdie Abuel (Fan Girl)

Lars Magbanua (He Who Is Without Sin)

Marxie Maolen Fadul (UnTrue)

Ericson Navarro (Magikland)

Benjamin Padero & Carlo Tabije (Motel Acacia)


Albert Michael Idioma & Alex Tomboc (Magikland)

Dennis Cham (UnTrue)

Mikko Quizon, John Michael Perez, Aeriel Mallari & Daryl Libongco (Hayop Ka! The Nimfa Dimaano Story)

Vincent Villa (Motel Acacia)

Vincent Villa (Fan Girl)


Mai Calapardo (He Who Is Without Sin)

Manet Dayrit & She Lopez Francia (Magikland)

Marya Ignacio (UnTrue)

Avid Liongoren (Hayop Ka! The Nimfa Dimaano Story)

Benjamin Tolentino (Fan Girl)


Ganyan Ang Pag-ibig Ko by Lito Camo (Coming Home)

Smile by Emerzon Texon (Magikland)

Tayo’y Maglagalag by Vincent de Jesus (Motel Acacia)

Ulan by Jhaye Cura/Pau Protacio (The Boy Foretold By The Stars)

Yakapin Mo Ako by Joven Tan (Suarez: The Healing Priest)

COMMENT DISCLAIMER: Reader comments posted on this Web site are not in any way endorsed by Manila Standard. Comments are views by manilastandard.net readers who exercise their right to free expression and they do not necessarily represent or reflect the position or viewpoint of manilastandard.net. While reserving this publication’s right to delete comments that are deemed offensive, indecent or inconsistent with Manila Standard editorial standards, Manila Standard may not be held liable for any false information posted by readers in this comments section.

Source link


Leave a Reply